RSS

Portrait Project Week 1

13 Oct

I’ve been going back and forth on what to do for this project, but I think I have decided to combine it with a future project I have for Computer Animation.  In about 3 weeks I need to create a cartoon character in maya.  I decided to make a small sized, cartoon proportioned, army sniper with a Remington 700.  So I need to start designing the character, and building reference material, for when I begin that project.  I am going to do that now, then draw a picture containing one of the poses I will eventually use.  From there, I will scan the drawing in, and use photoshop to color/texture the image.  If I have time I will also shade the picture.  My main goal for this project is not to produce a great finished work, but instead build a solid base for a more complete project down the road.

Here are some of the reference photos I’ve been looking at:

I’m also checking out a few sites on tips for drawing cartoon characters, because for some reason, I have serious trouble drawing characters minimalisticly and with cartoon like proportions:

http://www.toondraw.com/2010/06/how-to-draw-cartoon-people-cartoon-man.html

http://papercraftprintable.com/paper-doll-templates-for-kids-boy-version/

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
